I’ve been swamped with sewing ideas and projects lately but I have been squeezing in some knitting here and there.

shipwreckBIG2

I am almost finished with this shawl from knitty.  Initially I thought I would keep it for myself, but as I keep looking at the inner lace portion, I’m wondering if it wouldn’t be more suited to someone a bit older than myself.  I had in mind my grandmother who loves to knit but can’t anymore because of the arthritis in her hands.  I didn’t add the beads into the fishnet portion and I am going to dye mine a greenish gray.  This is not a fast knit, fair warning, but the fishnet is absolutely lovely and I think I may try and make a stocking pattern from the fishnet stitch.

I’m also in the midst of making a baby blanket, but have no photos of it yet…I’m doing the edging in Bernat Bamboo yarn and the middle in Paton’s Silk Bamboo (green and blue).  It will be lovely when I am finally done and weave in the ends, but wow is the Bernat Bamboo hard to weave in-I find the ends sticking out and fraying all over so I don’t think I’d use it for a baby blanket again since baby items get loads of washing.

On the docket to start are a dog sweater, like this one I made, edog sweaterxcept I’m going to do it in a finer weight yarn this time so there are no snags if the dog likes running under bushes like mine does.  This is for an etsy buyer on my site and I hope her pup will love it as much as mine does. This is my main priority now that I have the yarn in hand and the necessary measurements.

Next up after that is complete is this capelet.  I saw Gertie inquiring about capes and capeletes and wrote in her comments that I had a nurse’s cape and had been longing after a hooded capelet.  Well this is the hooded capelet I’d love to make:

mimi1This is a pattern/kit from Hanne Falkenberg and it is shown here in raspberry but comes in a variety of colors, but I rather like the poppy red color.  I know it is totally impractical but I really think it looks adorable and if I hate it, I can always frog it out and make something else.

After that I have on my plate other fall knits but I’ll save those for another post!

