I recently read this article about Queen Victoria’s underclothing being unearthed and put on display.  Show here are her chemise and split drawers, which got me thinking.  I have made up plenty of tap pants which range from serviceable to adorable to sexy depending on materials and embellishments.  But here is the rub (pun intention to come)–my thighs rub together when I walk.  I know, this is not an uncommon problem among women, but in lieu of wearing Spanx or some other girdle arrangement, what could I wear under dresses during the day so that I could walk without chafing, then, like a sign from above, I saw these royal underwear.

Queen Victoria's undergarments on display.

Queen Victoria's undergarments on display.

Those split drawers (open underneath to allow for use of the toilet) would be perfect for keeping my thighs intact and allowing the area to ‘breathe’ so to speak (those Spanx can be quite tight and non-breathable).  My only problem is, how do I make them?  They seem to be just two tubes of material sewn up and attached at the top and crotch, but can I swing this without a pattern or even a real-life model to go by?  Any help would be greatly appreciated!

